New Council Members Sworn In, Long-time Council Member Retires

Kara Banks City News

The new Edgerton City Council was seated during the December 12th City Council meeting.

Incumbents Clay Longanecker and Katee Smith repeated their oaths of office, while new member Josh Beem swore his oath for the first time. The new Council then re-elected Longanecker to serve as Council President.

Council terms are four years.

Longtime council member Jody Brown also retired. He was honored for his dedication and work on behalf of the community. Brown served on council for 14 years, from 2003-2007 and again from 2009-2019.

In recognition of Brown’s dedication, Mayor Donald Roberts presented Brown with an Edgerton ball cap and jacket and a personalized Edgerton street sign.

Mayor Roberts presents Council Member Jody Brown with a personalized street sign during the City Council meeting on December 12.

Brown told the audience that he enjoyed his chance to serve the community and thanked Mayor Roberts and his fellow Council Members for their leadership and desire to improve Edgerton. He also thanked City staff, especially City Administrator Beth Linn. Brown added that running a City is hard work and he’s glad that Edgerton is in good hands going forward.

A small reception was held for Brown during a short recess. A cake with the Edgerton “E” logo was served, along with coffee, tea and water.